Speaker Details



University Medical Center Utrecht

Department Head, Department of Cell Biology,

Judith Klumperman is the Head of the Department of Cell Biology and Chair of the Cell Screening and Microscopy Cores at University Medical Center Utrecht. Judith is an expert in electron microscopy (EM) and the application of advanced microscopy methods to basic and applied research projects. Her lab is renowned for high-end immuno EM studies and development of correlative light – EM (CLEM) methods to bridge the gap between light/live cell imaging and EM.
The ultimate aim of Dr. Klumperman's research is to manipulate the major digestive system of the cell – the autophagy-lysosomal (AL) pathway - in disorders with disturbed AL functioning, such as metastasizing cancer cells, neurodegenerative diseases (e.g. Alzheimer disease, Parkinson’s disease) and lysosomal storage disorders.
Judith Klumperman completed her PhD studies in the Laboratory for Electron Microscopy, Medical Faculty, University of Leiden (Prof. W.Th. Daems) and the Department for Biochemistry, University of Amsterdam (Prof. J.M. Tager) in a collaborative project with the Biocenter in Basel, Switzerland (Prof. H.P. Hauri). Her postdoctoral work was at the Department of Cell Biology, Center for Electron Microscopy, Medical Faculty, University Medical Center (UMC) Utrecht (Prof. J.J. Geuze), where she worked on the ‘Cellular transport mechanisms of lysosomal enzymes’, in collaboration with the Department of Biochemistry in Göttingen, Germany (Prof. K. von Figura). In 1992, she became a tenured assistant professor at the Department of Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology, Faculty Biology, Free University, Amsterdam. In 1999, she returned to the Department of Cell Biology, UMC Utrecht, where in 2001 she became full professor of Cell Biology and in 2007 Head of the Department.

Symposium Faculty

Peng Li

Tsinghua University

Christoper Glass

University of California San Diego

Takashi Kadowaki

University of Tokyo

Roger D. Kornberg

Stanford University

Judith Klumperman

University Medical Center Utrecht

Jeffrey Friedman

Rockefeller University

Gisou van der Goot

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne

David Sabatini

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Satchindananda Panda

Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Anu Suomalainen

University of Helsinki

Tobias Walther

Harvard University

David Mangelsdorf

University of Texas

Nilay Yapıcı

Cornell University

Semir Beyaz

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Gülçin Pekkurnaz

University of California San Diego

Betül Kaçar

University of Arizona