Speaker Details



University of California San Diego

Professor of Medicine and Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Department of Cellular and

Molecular Medicine

Dr. Glass is a physician-scientist recognized for his work on molecular mechanisms that control macrophage functions in health and disease. Dr. Glass majored in Biophysics at UC Berkeley and received M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from UC San Diego. He performed internship and residency training in Internal Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston before returning to UC San Diego for fellowship training in Endocrinology and Metabolism. Dr. Glass was a founding member of the Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine at UC San Diego and is currently Distinguished Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine and Distinguished Professor of Medicine. His laboratory has had a long-standing interest in elucidating the molecular mechanisms by which sequence specific transcription factors, co-activators and co-repressors regulate the development and function of macrophages. A major focus has been on understanding the roles of nuclear hormone receptors and other signal dependent transcription factors in controlling programs of gene expression that underlie both their normal homeostatic functions in healthy tissues, as well as their pathogenic functions in the arterial wall, adipose tissue and brain. Current studies use a combination of genetics and genomics to define general molecular mechanisms that establish macrophage identity and cell-specific responses to homeostatic and pathogenic signals in mouse models and human subjects. His laboratory is applying these approaches to understand and modify pathological programs of macrophage gene expression that promote the development of atherosclerosis, diabetes, cancer and neurodegenerative diseases.

Symposium Faculty

Peng Li

Tsinghua University

Christoper Glass

University of California San Diego

Takashi Kadowaki

University of Tokyo

Roger D. Kornberg

Stanford University

Judith Klumperman

University Medical Center Utrecht

Jeffrey Friedman

Rockefeller University

Gisou van der Goot

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne

David Sabatini

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Satchindananda Panda

Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Anu Suomalainen

University of Helsinki

Tobias Walther

Harvard University

David Mangelsdorf

University of Texas

Nilay Yapıcı

Cornell University

Semir Beyaz

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Gülçin Pekkurnaz

University of California San Diego

Betül Kaçar

University of Arizona